Things Get Worse

Things get worse before they get better, right?

I’m hip deep into the remodel at my salon. Yesterday we tore apart a good chunk of the big fixtures and took off all the doors so they and the trim could be painted.  I have a storage POD being delivered today so we can move half of the salon fixtures out of the salon so that we can paint, but of course, they changed the delivery time to somewhere in between 3:15pm and 6pm. Don’t you wish that you could set appointments this way? “Yes, I’ll cut your hair sometime between 9am and noon. Just sit tight.” This means that not only will we need to step over, on and around everything while we paint, but it’s going to be the hottest part of the day when we can actually get the heavy lifting done. Lovely. Not to mention that we are open for business tomorrow, so everything is going to have to look half organized for when our clients walk through the door.

Thank goodness for the helpers who’ve rolled up their sleeves and gone to work with me!

I spent most of yesterday feeling sick. The morning sickness kind of sick. Where every smell and movement makes your stomach roll. Where you’re not sure if you can keep even water down. I wanted to throw up so badly, but I cry when I throw up and have this instinctual feeling of, “I want my mommy!” Plus, the bathroom door at the salon was taken off, so I would have had an audience. Not exactly the kind of show anyone wants to see. I’m not sure what was going on, but I AM sure I’m not pregnant, so you can get that idea right out of your head. You’re going to jinx a girl thinking thoughts like that and then I really WOULD have a problem. Seriously. My kids would love to find out their mother was expecting. Mom’s weekend would look so different at WSU next year if that was the case. People generally frown upon expectant mothers drinking two bottles of wine. Well, some people would frown upon any woman drinking two bottles of wine, but it was Wazzu and it was Mom’s Weekend. Perfectly acceptable. In fact, it was nearly expected.

AnyWHO… last night when I was finally laying in my bed feeling sorry for myself because I felt so horrible, I had a sudden feeling of immense gratitude. In between the waves of nausea, I was thinking about how fortunate I am to have good health. I rarely ever get sick and have thus far <knocking on all kinds of wood here> avoided any serious illnesses or injuries. I don’t even have a cavity (yes, I flossed today. Day 4!). Pretty lucky. There are people who are dealing daily, with how I was feeling all day yesterday. I take my health for granted most of the time, and it takes feeling crappy to be reminded  how good it is to be healthy. surprise

This morning, I woke up in typical fashion, with one of my Yorkies kissing me and then hitting me in the face with his paw, demanding that I get out of bed and get him a treat, and coffee sounded good, so I think that’s a sign that I’m on the road to recovery. Good thing, as there’s work to be done! I also had a surprise waiting for me on my front step from the Skittles fairy. The way to my heart, always and forever, is not through chocolate, but through Skittles. We’ll see how long that bag lasts, ha!

 

Leave a Reply

